Draw the Line

By Keaton Evans

There are certain things that we are willing to do as actors and certain things we won’t. Maybe you’ll do anything, and if that’s the case, good on ya. For most of us, even for the super glamorous and famous, there are simply some things we won’t do.

pexels-photo-54567.jpeg

But why? Why draw a line at all? What is in us that makes us uneasy to do certain things? Yes dear reader, these questions and more will be answered.

Why lines should be drawn.

From a purely moral perspective, lines should be drawn in every area of life. These are not meant to limit what we can do as much as they are for keeping us safe and in step with the Holy Spirit. There is a distinct difference though between saying no to something out of fear as opposed to saying no out of conviction or moral obligation.

Unfortunately for people who think in more black and white terms, like myself, this area becomes very grey.

A situation could be convicting for someone and not convicting for someone else. It wholly depends on the person and what they feel comfortable with.

We should be very cautious if we try to lay down a blanket rule for everyone to follow. When drawing lines, it’s definitely more subjective than objective.

Something to consider when thinking about where to draw the line is this: is the overall story or message edifying, or does it promote falsehood? This idea was talked about on my SAS (School of Acting for the Screen) at YWAM Brisbane, and I thought it made a lot of sense.

It really helped me when I considered playing a role I thought was uncomfortable.     

photo-1439754389055-9f0855aa82c2.jpeg

A personal story concerning the drawing of a line.

I was preparing to audition for some roles for the final films, that is, the second of two short films the SDF (School of Digital Filmmaking) and SAS students get to work on.

I was a little apprehensive to play one of the roles. You see, this seems kind of silly now, but if I auditioned for this role I was going to be in a kissing scene. *gasp* However my thought was, well shoot, I don’t want that part, I’d be terrible or mess up and then be embarrassed.

So, I complained about the lack of role diversity there was in the short films and how I wasn’t even going to audition.

That would teach ‘em, I thought.

But before the auditions were held, the acting students and staff met together and discussed our thoughts and feelings on the upcoming short films.

I remember feeling very strange and closed off.

I was resilient in my defiance of auditioning for the role that made me feel uncomfortable. Really, I was just nervous about it. I was very blessed to have leaders like Charis and Josias to help encourage and challenge me during that time.

Anywho, I questioned my motives and auditioned. I got the part, much to my surprise.

The funny thing was that the script was eventually rewritten and the final draft didn’t even contain a kissing scene.

I had a ton of fun on the film too, and the character I was able to portray really helped me overcome certain fears and learn how to enjoy the process.

The amount of moments God used to teach me about acting during that time was incredible, something I wouldn’t have been able to experience if I didn’t audition in the first place.

photo-1468476775582-6bede20f356f.jpeg

I learned that drawing lines is healthy when you consider your motivation.

Again, ask yourself whether the story you could be apart of is glorifying the truth or a lie. If it isn’t clear then dig deep and identify what the message of the story is.


I definitely encourage you as an actor to draw lines when you feel you should, but always consider why you do.

Leave a Reply

