My Intro to Acting 101

Here at the SDF we teach all aspects of filmmaking. From start to finish we believe every aspect is equally important.

I’ve decided to spend some time exploring different aspects of what makes up the films I love.

This week I wanted to explore what makes up a good performance by analyzing what makes up some performances I love.

Sam Rockwell as Sam Bell in Moon

20090611_moon_560x375

I love Sam Rockwell in general but Moon really highlights him. The best thing I could say about it is that it seems human to me.

For more Sam Rockwell check out:

Seven Psychopaths

Confessions of a Dangerous Mind

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Harrison Ford as Han Solo in Star Wars

han-solo

Who doesn’t remember Han Solo? I love how Harrison Ford made the lovable rouge so lovable. He brought the cool to sci-fi and made me and every other 6 year old boy want to be him.

For more Harrison Ford check out:

Frantic

Raiders of the Lost Ark

Blade Runner

Julianne Moore as Linda Partridge in Magnolia

julianne-moore-magnolia

Julianne Moore is always amazing. She brings so much heart to a character that has so much going on in and around her. I love that her performance never goes over board but stays grounded and real.

For more Julianne Moore check out:

Boogie Nights

A Single Man

Far From Heaven

Vivien Leigh as Scarlett O’Hara in Gone With the Wind

Favim.com-4683

Fiery Southern Belle are the words that come to mind when I think of Scarlett. I was surprised to find out Vivien Leigh is English. She captures the spirit of a strong women so well and perhaps in some way defined what a strong women is when I saw it as a child.

For more Vivien Leigh check out:

A Street Car Named Desire

Fire Over England

Ship of Fools

Emma Stone as Olive Penderghast in Easy A

emma_stone_in_easy_a-normal

The smart but cool girl next door. Emma brings such a cool friendly quality to her character in this movie that at the end of watching it I felt a connection with Olive and I feel like I could easily be friends with her.

For more Emma Stone check out:

Birdman or(The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Crazy Stupid Love

Zombieland

Leave a Reply

